Writer’s block

It was bound to happen eventually: I have writer’s block. Now, I know about writer’s block. I know things to do about it. I teach my students how to deal with it. But when I’m wading through my pre-spring-break to-do list, and this Ke$ha cover of Bob Dylan has me feeling anything but pumped up, my writer’s block solutions all sound a lot less appealing than bedtime. My last few posts have been exactly what I needed to write, when I needed to write them, so I can’t really complain. Plus, after all my talk about realizing I don’t need to do everything all the time, I figure owning up to my writer’s block and granting myself rest is in good form.

I’ll leave you with this short related thought: Is there a spiritual equivalent to writer’s block? I think there is, or at least I think I’ve experienced something like it. When, on Tuesday night, I couldn’t get to sleep but was too tired to get up and cross anything off my to-do list, I read a big chunk of Lauren Winner’s new book, Still: Notes on a Mid-Faith Crisis, which—so far—seems to speak to this in a powerful way. (I like Lauren Winner a lot; I expect to find the second half of Still as poignant and meaningful as the first.) Do you have any experience with spiritual writer’s block?

Another note: I’m going to be driving around the Midwest a bit next week. I’m planning to keep up my blogging schedule, but I apologize in advance for any similarly light entries. Prayers today for others of you wrangling hefty to-do lists!

4 thoughts on “Writer’s block

  1. I’m so glad that it turns out you’re a human being and not a cyborgrobotthing. God bless you, Alissa. God bless you.

    (Although I did really like having a token cyborg friend… Damn. Ima have to get me another one of those.)

    Je t’aime!!!!!!

  2. I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying Still. I was concerned after reading some many negative reviews about it being unorganized, etc., but if Alissa likes it … ^_^

    • Those comments are not unfounded, but I’m sort of a fan of quirky organization––Marilynne Robinson’s Gilead is a prime example. Now, Still‘s no Gilead, but I like the vignette-y style. 🙂

What do you think?

