Obligatory introductory post

Hi.

This is a blog. Clearly. My blog.

This is a home for my thoughts and stories of life as a 20-something in the Episcopal Church. The loss of youth and young adults from American churches has been big news for the last few years, at least in church circles. No one seems sure just how many young people are leaving, everyone has (wildly different) ideas as to why, but the consensus is that American churches (especially denominational churches) are graying.

Falling church attendance is old news for much of the developed world. I’ll probably talk more about that later. I have a feeling the Church is heading for a sea change, though I’m unsure what that’s going to look like. I don’t think this is a bad thing. I don’t think people of my generation are any more broken or un-spiritual or even un-religious than the previous generation(s). But change is here, and we’re going to have to figure out what that means.

That’s some of what I want to attempt here. I don’t have answers. Not a single one. I don’t know what the Church is going to look like in the next year or ten or hundred. I just know that I’m both excited about church, in particular the Episcopal Church, and I’m also right in the middle of the Millennial/Boomerang/Gen Y/Net/Echo Boomer generation — and it works for me.

To read more about how the blog got its name, see Episco-what? To get a glimpse of my journey to TEC and learn a little more about me, see I’m an Episcopalian (Hi.). And if you’re kind of confused about what this whole Episco-huh?-uh-palianism thing is, anyway, see TEC Welcomes You.

Full disclosure: I have an uneasy relationship with blogging. There are so many blogs out there, good and bad, that I wonder if I have anything to contribute, or if I’m just adding drivel to the overstimulating textual roar. I’m also just not very good at blogging. I’ve tried and failed in the past. Maybe I’m not cut out for it: I’m a private person, and a perfectionist, and a procrastinator, and I keep plenty busy with other stuff. Like, you know, life.

So, I’m not making any promises. I’m going to be learning as I go on this one. My renewed attempt at navigating the blogipelago might turn into another sputtering failure. I’m okay with that. I care a lot about the Church, though, and about the folks within and without it (“old and young together”), so I’m going to try. Are you with me?

Get in. Buckle up. Let’s hit the road. I can’t tell you how long it’ll take to get where we’re going, but it’s going to be an awesome ride.

What do you think?

